top of page
Search

Another Hurricane and The End of a Legacy

Hurricane Michael blew in catching everyone off guard and leveling or uprooting many things in it's path. Unfortunately, it blew in 2 days before the Cap Trail 100 Running Relay and the farewell race of Revolution3 Triathlon as we knew it.


I am not sure where to start with this post.... I think I will get the less emotional part out of the way first then go into the real purpose of the post.

Thursday, I am at work and of course, the weather is unhinging outside. How in the hell am I going to get home?! I wait until I think it is almost cleared up and prepare to leave, not knowing my ride home would be an adventure in itself. After three attempts on different roads to get home, I finally find my way to the house... with no power, no dinner, nothing packed, and my clothes in the washing machine since the night before (EWWW). Hangry and unprepared, I do what I can do with a flashlight, pissed at myself, pissed I was FINALLY going to get two posts in one week and couldn't, and pissed I was even racing at all because this was more than a race, this was the end of a chapter that saved my sanity.


Here is what Rev3 and being on Team Rev3 meant to me...


I applied to be an ambassador after meeting Thea and her amazing family at the Cap Trail 100 Relay last year. I wanted to run badly and they asked on social media for a fourth relay member. This was TOTALLY out of my comfort zone. I don't do strangers, I don't do things where you should be fast, I don't run good, but I just knew this was something I should do, so I did. After being encouraged heavily to apply I did and had my application in before the deadline of 10/31/17.


At the same time this was all going on, my beautiful, 62 year old Mother-In-Law was dying. After finding out she had stage 4, terminal ovarian cancer in November of 2016 she did all she could to prolong her life. Renea was a beautiful, strong-willed soul and wanted to fight. After taking chemo from November until March we all had hope her life would be prolonged but knew in the end, there was no cure. At her last chemo appointment at the end of March 2017, she was having sharp abdominal pain and having many signs that her cancer had metastasized. We found out three days after her last chemo that she now had liver and bone cancer and that her days were numbered....


When Mama Bear called me from Team Rev3 to interview me over the phone I was ecstatic! I couldn't believe I had made it through the first round of picks! I'm not fast, I'm not good at triathlon, I just like to show up and put it all on the course while cheering on all of my new stranger friends... every single one of them. That was my first indication that Team Rev3 was different. They were not looking for fast, winning, ass holes, they were looking for big-hearted, fun loving, triathletes who wanted to join their FAMILY. The day MB called me couldn't have come too soon, the phone call I was having before she called was to my husband about when to make his mother's hospice intake appointment.


November 12, 2017 was a normal Sunday morning for me and I was helping my best friend train for her first half marathon, so I had gotten up early to head 15 minutes away from my house to go for a 10 mile run. I ALWAYS run with my phone, I repeat ALWAYS, but this morning it was one more step to an already sleepy morning and hell why did I even carry it, I NEVER used it or needed it.


My run was a struggle fest! I distinctly remember one part of the run was so difficult I couldn't breathe, I got emotional, and then I pressed on. When I got to my car at a little after 9am I had 2 missed phone call's from Renea's best friend and a couple from Adam. Adam, A few family friends, my CIL (cuz in law), and I had been the care takers for Renea for about 3 weeks on a constant rotation. She needed around the clock care and could no longer really do anything on her on. This particular weekend her best friends from forever till now, had come to stay and visit, as the end was near, but to also help give us a little downtime.


Renea took her last breath that Sunday morning, I can only speculate right when I was struggling emotionally up that hill....


That week was LONG, but I got an email from Mama Bear letting me know I had made it into the final round of selections for the team and it was the only highlight in that week. I found out I made the team just a short while after that and it had been the only good thing to happen in our neck of the woods for a little while. We celebrated.


In March 2018, Rev3 was gearing up as everyone was getting ready for their first race on the schedule, a lot of chatter and happy banter was going on in the groups as we pushed to get more registrants in some of our favorite races, but I again was sitting in one of the toughest places of my life. My grandfather was in the hospital, not that that was anything new. He had been in and out of the hospital my whole life with CHF, a variety of illnesses, heart blockages, and so on, but this time was different. I knew it. We all knew it. Pop, 86 years old, had gotten pneumonia right before Thanksgiving and just hadn't been right since, he couldn't shake the sickness and was becoming weaker and weaker. March 7th my grandfather was admitted into the hospital and he died peacefully on March 16th after his very full and loving heart, just stopped ticking.


Living through my teammates on Rev3 training and talking to other athletes and conversing on our group is what got me through with some kind of sanity on the hard days when I was in the hospital, again being a caregiver for one of the most beloved men I've ever known. The day my grandfather's heart beat for the last time, I was running a 5K, I was running the fastest I had ever run and as I rang the PR bell my heart sank, I already knew... He was gone.


May 20th would have been my grandfather's 87th birthday and in memory of him, I was running the 13.1 of IM Chattanooga 70.3 as a relay team. When I came home my life was turned upside down. More grief had hit me to the core and at this point, I was unsure I was able to deal with all of this grief coming my way. I had been training for Rev3 Quassy 70.3 and I knew if I could just make it to that race and be with my people, I could get through anything. Quassy was amazing! It gave me the strength I needed and helped me more than I could have ever imagined work through all of the crap that was going on in my life. I had the best experience with Rev3, with my teammates, and with my Brain Demon.


Rev3 Williamsburg of course did not disappoint and was an amazing time with friends, teammates, and other athletes! Even the scary parts of the swim were okay because I knew my teammates, mom, and staff were always out there taking care of us! Camping at the venue and being able to help, hang, and volunteer was amazing and rewarding! After Rev3 Williamsburg, we found out Team Rev3 would no longer exist. My heart was broken, it was seriously like losing another family member or being dealt another earth shattering blow. Team Rev3 is what got me through 3 of the hardest events in my life to date.


Rev3 Stafford Sprint was cancelled for me because hurricane Flo was sitting on us and it was unsafe to drive, but I was really looking forward to the Cap Trail 100! Another weekend with friends, letting loose, and just being with people who understand your heart! Hurricane Michael unexpectedly came through and rocked its way up the east coast and taking down trees and power lines as it went. The Cap Trail 100 ended up being cancelled as VDOT pulled the race permit, and rightfully so. Rev3 worked hard to give us a race so we had the option of Half Marathon, 10 miler, 10K, or 5K, with this being my last long run weekend for MCM, I went with the longest option. To make a post that is already too long shorter, my team stepped up. I told them at the pace we were running I was going to PR my 13.1 time, and boy did they like that! My teammates paced me, pushed me, and said all the right things to get me motivated to keep moving! I officially took over 1 minute off of my time (possibly even 4 minutes depending on the timing system you look at LOL). Many of my teammates gave up their runs to run with me. I am SLOW, well at least to them, so it meant a LOT to me that they gave it up for me. It was a good end to a legacy I will not forget, that has brought me lasting friendships, lots of laughs, and a new family to be a part of. You were my rainbow throughout all of the past year's storms....


Rev3.... thank you! You will be epicly missed....


Keep Looking for Your Rainbow,


P<3



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page