top of page
Search

2019

2019…. It is here. What does that mean differently for me? What am I going to do differently so that the crap shoot 2018 gave me, doesn’t rear it’s head again?


I think one of the things that are hard about life are all the uncertainties. You live your everyday life trying to make the best decisions for you and your family, but sometimes even the best choices backwash shit water into your life. 2018 was a rough year, after 2017 I thought for sure 2018 had to be better….pfft… but what does complaining about a crappy two years get me? Nothing. By saying I had two crappy years, I skip over all the good stuff, all the fun stuff, and all the things that brought me so much joy when I am in a bad place I close my eyes to revisit them.


Here is my 2018 sum up of HAPPY things that I hope to recreate in 2019:


-Being a part of Team Rev 3 - they saved my life this year. Literally.

-Care taking for my beautiful Grandfather when he needed me

-Running a race and PR’ing it when my Grandfather finally went to see Jesus

-Waking up the day after my Grandfather died to run a race in his memory

-Going to Nashville and having a blast with my friends and family

-Running part of a triathlon relay on my Grandfather’s birthday and experiencing -beautiful Chattanooga

-Finishing my first solo (mom did not race, she sherpa’d) 70.3 in the beautiful Woodbury, -Connecticut. Quassy brought me more strength, perseverance, and love for myself than any race or thing ever has! (Timing also had something to do with that I’m sure, but that race was tough and I rocked it.)

-Williamsburg vacation with my family. We spent days just wandering and spending time together. It was wonderful.

--Williamsburg 70.3, no PR, but this race was another moment in my year that has so many beautiful memories…

-Running at Salem Lake. I love Salem Lake, everything about it just makes me so happy inside. My longest solo run and a 30K were both completed there in September and I loved every second!

-Riding TTT and completing a double century! I have done a lot of things in my quarter of a century life, this by far was one of my absolute favorite accomplishments, with some of the absolute best people! My hat makes any bad day better!

-MCM… I can’t even say enough about how wonderful that experience was. The DC/Alexandria trip, being with friends and family, and the race experience was just amazing! The vibes I got from this race will not easily be erased… I visit them a lot.

-Christmas with my family was especially good this year. We just wanted to be together and enjoy each other. That’s all that matters, that’s all I genuinely care about.


I’m sure I missed a few, I am sure that there were some more victories, but the ones listed are the ones I revisit constantly when I need a boost.


Now that we have entered 2019 and I revisit these beautiful memories and how awesome every single experience was, I wonder, how do I top that? How do I make 2019 even better? How do I make memories so big that even in my deepest, darkest pit I can cling to one and pull myself back up? The planning of 2019 had already begun, but I feel like I have different lenses on this morning. The quiet time and thoughts for reflection over the holiday madness, have given a new perspective. I haven’t made a ton of goals for 2019, as I have said before, I do not believe in New Year’s Resolutions, but I do think we should start out every year with some intentions on how to make this year better than the last and how to make ourselves better than we were before. I also believe than when you tell other’s something, that , that makes you accountable to keep your word, so buy sharing my intentions with you all, my small and mighty group of loyal readers, I now have a group waiting for my updates on the intentions I am setting.


So here it goes…


1. God is number 1…. Priscilla is number 2

2. Say your mantra every single day and believe it

3. Experiences. Every month create (at least) 1 new experience

4. Be Present in all experiences and memory making opportunities

5. DO WHAT MAKES ME HAPPY!


That’s a hefty plate of hopes for 2019. Of course, there are smaller subtitles in those, but these are the big, honking pieces that I hope to focus on. I may have to make all kinds of cricut decals, sticky notes, and write on my hands to get it drilled into my brain, but I will conquer memorizing and utilizing these and making the best of my 2019!


Look Out 2019… HERE I COME!!!




I appreciate each and every one of you that listens to my ramble. Creating Team SPAZ has been an absolute blessing and I cannot even imagine where I would be without the drive I have acquired from this movement. I cannot wait to see what we accomplish in 2019! Our Story ;sn’t Over, we are here for some purpose and reason and mine is to be brutally honest about what anxiety, depression, and suicide looks like and helping other sufferers overcome and empower themselves through it. I am not ashamed, I am proud that I am stronger than any of the things that try to take me out of this beautiful world every day. Through the trials I am given, God creates more patience, perseverance, and endurance in me. I just have to learn to find the joy in the journey.


2019 Race Calendar:


January 5th- Hot Chocolate 8k Albemarle, NC

February 10th - Marathon Massacre Relay Greensboro, NC

March 16th & 17th- Shamrock 8k and Full Marathon VA Beach, VA

March 30th- Blackbeard’s Revenge 100 Mile Relay, Ocracoke, NC

April 7th- Cherry Blossom 10 Miler Washington, DC

April 13th - Tarwheel Century Elizabethtown, NC

April 14th - Flying Pirate 13.1 Kitty Hawk, NC

May 5th- Diva’s 5K Myrtle Beach, SC

May 12th- Crystal Coast Full Booty Triathlon Beaufort, NC

September 13th & 14th- SavageMan Swim Run & SavageMan 30.0 MD


Questionables:


June 1st & 2nd - MS Ride Williamsburg, VA

September 28th & 29th- TTT Clemmons, NC

October 27th- MCM Washington, DC

December 7th - Mistletoe 13.1 Winston-Salem, NC


I live our motto, I #MoveToLive


Our Story ;sn’t Over


Be Present and Create New Memories,


P<3

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page